Champaign-Urbana Public Health District

CUPHD Dental presents Fluoride Accommodation Awards

Monday - Aug 10, 2009

CUPHD Dental is proud to announce they have once again presented five Champaign County Water Departments the yearly Fluoride Accommodation Award. Illinois American Water Company, Sangamon Valley Public Water District, Sadorus Water Department, Royal Water Department, and Ludlow Water Department received awards. The Illinois Fluoridation Statute was enacted in 1967 and requires all community water systems to adjust their fluoride to optimal levels (0.90 - 1.20 milligrams per liter). To achieve this award a treatment plant has to have fluoride samples analyzed each month by an Illinois Environmental Protection Agency Certified Lab and all 12 samples must be within the EPA guidelines on milligrams per liter dosage. Illinois American Water Company has achieved this award every year since 1984. Out of the entire state of Illinois 435 community water supplies received awards. Water Fluoridation is an effective way to prevent tooth decay and improve overall oral health for both children and adults.